Acts of Yoga

Seriously, who knew I could make it 4 days in my 30 day challenge! I’m terrible at commitments, remind me to tell you the story of how my husband got me to marry him. But we’ve done 4 days so far, unfortunately we started out with a slight injury, but I’m starting to feel much better.

My back was just a touch angry at me. So of course, actually doing 30 days of yoga has been out of the question, but it’s those small acts that count! Here’s a little reminder to join me in sharing your acts of yoga on Instagram!

Since I say it all the time, why don’t we talk about what I even mean! First off, it can be anything that involves giving yourself love and care! (Going to the doctor? Act of yoga. Getting your hair done? Act of yoga.) Indulging yourself a little is great for you. If it makes you happy, and if it isn’t hurting you or anyone else, it qualifies!

What isn’t an act of yoga is over indulgences and unhealthy practices, i.e. eating an entire chocolate cake in one sitting alone. Sounds delicious, totally not good for you though. This can also include negative thoughts toward yourself or others. (Sometimes they happen though! Don’t get mad at yourself for a momentary lapse, read my post about 24hrs complaint free if you’re curious about this kind of negative thinking.)

An act of yoga is that fine balance between the two. Your health and care routine doesn’t need to be awful. Beyond being healthy, it should also make you happy. After all, happiness is mental health, and mental health is just as important as physical in yoga.

I find it’s also a good way to remind yourself that you’re doing well. If you’re trying to loose weight, for example, it can seem like a grueling process sometimes, but perhaps your body (or mind) really needs it! It’s a wonderful thing to do for yourself, even if the process is tough. Rewarding yourself once a week with small treats, like rest days or desert after dinner, are wonderful acts to look forward too. Holding off your cravings and working toward a goal an awesome act too. Also super hard! I’m very guilty of snacking and giving into my salty/sweet tooth.

Really, I find many people forget about loving themselves and getting caught up in life, so if you have the chance for a quiet morning cup of tea, enjoy it! That can be your morning yoga today. Just don’t forget to do your proper yoga tomorrow! ❤

If you would like, follow me along on Instagram! Join in yourself and use #actofyoga so I can find you!

Namaste

Leave a Reply

